Saturday, November 14, 2009

Nothing like November

It's hard to believe that it's November out there. The sun is shining, a breeze is blowing and if the leaves weren't red and yellow and gold...I might think it's springtime. It's a perfect 70*. I've got the windows open and the music on....a great day to catch up on some housework. (Since the cleaning fairies consistently fail me.) I've swept up enough of Zoey's hair to make a wig or two, I've cleaned kitchen and living room and both floors, and encountered enough blasted dust bunnies to choke a horse along the way. So now it's after 2 o'clock in the afternoon. I'm pretty sure the king thinks he needs to clean the bathrooms, since I did the floors on my hands and knees, so we'll just keep letting him think that and maybe I won't have to do that too. He and Wyatt have gone to the dump....feels like an excellent time to get a quick shower and straighten up the bedrooms. When they get back, we'll get the leaves all chopped up and do a little yard work. Gotta make our weekly Lowe's run too....so....y'all enjoy your weekend and enjoy the fantastic weather! xoxox

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

My kid.....the bully.

Yeah...you read it right. My kid. The bully. Wyatt. Yes...sweet Wyatt. He flicked a kid in the head yesterday....the kid cried....Wyatt got In-School Suspension. Luckily, the assistant principle that he went to remembered him from his broken arm days. He didn't get to dress for the basketball game yesterday and I'm sure that he will have to run a suicide or two. All in all, he says it was NOT worth it...he was just trying to get the kids attention...and didn't flick him hard. "Not as hard as Ben flicks me", he said. But, the kid cried. So Wyatt got in trouble. Lesson learned: Don't flick kids in the head. In-school suspension sucks. (His words, not mine.) I don't mean that about Wyatt being a bully...he's not a bully. He was just made to feel like one...and I was made to feel like a bully's mom too. It was even said to me that they knew there was no malicious intent in Wyatt's actions....so...ISS?? Really??? Anyway, punishment has been served and the lesson has been learned and it's over. No more flicks in the head. Period.

Thursday, October 1, 2009

October....


I can't believe it's October already....but it is. With October comes cooler weather, changing colors, and Halloween. October is also Breast Cancer Awareness month. September was Childhood Cancer Awareness month. It is very, very sad to me that we have to have our months assigned to raising awareness for cancer. I wish that we could dedicate the months to something alot more fun....like Tootsie Roll month....or Let's Take Mom to Lunch month. But.....Cancer is a huge part of our world today. Breast cancer gets alot of attention and funding. I don't know why it gets more than the other cancers....it just does. Last year, I walked for the first time in the American Cancer Society Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk. I wish that there was an event like this to raise money and awareness for Childhood Cancer. Y'all know how I feel about Childhood Cancer. Just because we choose to walk in this event, does NOT mean that we are supporting breast cancer over childhood cancer.....Cancer robs us all of people that we love...our kids, our friends, our mothers, sisters, aunts, our fathers and brothers....uncles and husbands. Yes, childhood cancer needs so much more attention and funding.....but if you can get out and so SOMETHING....maybe...just maybe we can save another life. I will be walking....in Pink....on October 24th.....but just like every other time that I walk....I will have my sweet kiddos on my wrist....walking for Graden, Makenzie, Karli, Savannah, Bishop, and little Thomas, too.

Friday, September 25, 2009

No excuses.

I suppose I could go on and on about how busy we have been....but that's lame. I suppose I could go on and on about not having anything to tell y'all....but that's lame, too. Really...I have no excuse for leaving y'all wondering what's been happening in my world. Sorry, but that's just the way it is sometimes. Remember?....it's my blog...and I say that's just the way it is sometimes.
So, we really have been very busy....school, work, basketball practice, concession stand duties, wedding showers, out of town weddings, in town weddings, new babies.....the works! This past weekend, we got to catch up with some of my family at my cousin, Katy's wedding in Atlanta. We are a really fun group...y'all should join us sometime. This weekend, I hope to get to stay home. The laundry has piled up and the dust bunnies are taking over the house....not to mention all the Lola and Zoey footprints by the back door.
While I've been neglecting y'all, the baby next door finally arrived. She is a precious little bundle of all things pink. Lalaina. She is a sweet, sweet baby girl. Baby girls feel different than baby boys....how come? Baby boys are just as sweet....just different. I am collecting ways to spoil her, so any and all suggestions are welcome....her parents will thank us later!
Well, that catches us up a little...I promise to try to do better. Have a happy weekend....xoxox

Monday, August 31, 2009

WARNING: Contains graphic details...NOT for the squeemish or faint of heart.

So, the longer that I am MOM to 2 boys.....the more I learn....and the LESS I understand. For instance...when you're a BOY...apparently it's perfectly acceptable to wear the same clothes....dirty or not....day after day....just because they feel good. WHAT????
And if that's not enough....it's even ok to wear those clothes that feel good.....when you've just had a shower. Now, call me crazy....but CLEAN clothes go on CLEAN bodies. I thought it was easy. HA!
That's not to mention all of the other gross-ness that comes along with BOYS....not to name any names, but especially those BOYS that have just come into their teen aged years. I do have to admit, that in past experience...with another BOY....once they get past this phase, they really do like to be clean and wear clean clothes. I suppose this is my current pet peeve.
Oh yeah....and when the King said to me, "It's almost like riding in the car with yourself, isn't it?". Excuse me??? My mom taught me to ALWAYS have on clean panties....cause you never know what might happen...I'd hate to be in a wreck and have on yesterdays panties! OH...the shame! Thanks for listening....have a great week! xoxox

Thursday, August 27, 2009

You made me a Mom.

Nineteen years ago today....at 11:07am...I became your Mom. That's the day that your firsts became my firsts. You were my little boy. Benjamin Joseph....named after your grandfather and your great-grandfather. We picked your name shortly after we knew that we had a little boy on the way. October the 9th was the first time that you smiled at me. Your smile is still one of my favorite things to see. We had a hall full of people at the hospital on the day that you were born. Your dad had been rehearsing the drive to the hospital for months.....and we made it at about 5 am...all that rehearsing paid off...he did just fine and we arrived safely. The rest of the day is a blur....from nurses to visitors to the candle light dinner that we were served after you arrived......all very exciting. Every minute of being your Mom has been exciting to me. I'm very, very proud that I am the one that you call Mom....I love you very much, Bubby.

Saturday, August 8, 2009

I'm still at work....be home in an hour.

So, some of you know that my office is right next door to a sports bar. Not the ideal place, but we were there first, so what can ya do? Anyway, I see most of the comings and goings that happen at the sports bar. We even have our own names for some of the patrons. At the moment, there's Shorty and the Tongue, and the cute guy with the motorcycle. We know the real names of most of the other "regulars". So yesterday at about 3:45, a guy walks up to the sidewalk. It seems like they always stop to finish their phone conversation right in front of me. This guy was right in front of me as he wrapped up a call to his wife....or significant other....I assume. This is how his end went...."yes, baby....no babe....I'm still at work, babe. Yes...Still working. Ok baby...I'll be home in about an hour...ok baby....bye." And then he walked right into the sports bar! And sure enough....exactly 50 minutes later...he walked out of the sports bar. At least he was home on time!! I had to laugh out loud at that one!
Y'all have a great weekend....and I'll be home in about an hour!! xoxox