....I have been running. Yes. Running. Again...I can't believe it myself. I have been running. Kay and I started running in May. We are still running. I'm not sure I can say that I actually like to run yet....but I like the way I feel when I am finished running. So maybe someday I will be able to say that I like to run? Maybe someday I will call myself a runner, too? Maybe. No run today though....it's raining. And I ran last night. And Monday morning. Thanks to the rain, I am forced to rest. Hmm...I just kinda sounded like a runner, huh? Sorry. I'll try to be more careful! It's getting harder and harder to find a 'good' time to run. We had been running at 5:30 in the morning. It's still dark at 5:30 in the morning now. I will run in the rain...(and have)....and I will even rain in a thunderstorm...(have done that too)...but I don't want to run in the dark. I will figure it out.
So, my friend, Molly, asked me to start blogging again. She's a good friend and I like her alot....so I'm back. Thank you, Molly! I have missed y'all! I might not be here tomorrow night, though. Wyatt has a football game....so until next time....y'all behave yourselves!
Today I am thankful for: willpower that is keeping me from making strawberry cupcakes. I really want a strawberry cupcake.....
Wednesday, August 18, 2010
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
Special request by Molly....
Well, here I am. Yes, it's been 3 months since I was here last. Maybe 3 months since YOU have been here, too. But....I'm back. For now, at least. Anyway, summer has come and gone. Busy as usual....that's nothing new. So, to recap the summer....Wyatt had basketball camp at Tennessee Tech, football camp at the high school, and football practice at his own school. Ben and Maria took a quick trip to The Aquarium in Chattanooga, and worked the rest of the summer. The King and I went on our first vacation without the kids.....yes, you read that correctly....our FIRST kidless vacation! We had a great time at the beach. I missed my boys, but still managed to enjoy the beach! So, now school has started for Wyatt. 8th grade. Already. It seems like he just started 2nd grade last year...and next year he will be a Freshman in High School. No way. Really?? Yes way. Ready for another shocker?? Ben will be 20 next week. I know. I can't believe it either. After all, I'm not old enough to be the mom of a 20 year old. Well, I am....but it sure doesn't seem right! Well, I'm pretty sure that catches y'all up a little. I'm sorry I have neglected y'all. Really. I am. I will do better. Until next time....stay cool and stay dry!
Tonight I am thankful for: Friends to remind me that they like to read my blog, homegrown tomatoes, and a hot bath.
Tonight I am thankful for: Friends to remind me that they like to read my blog, homegrown tomatoes, and a hot bath.
Wednesday, May 26, 2010
Heavy hearts and worried minds.
I woke up in Florida Wednesday morning to a text message that makes my heart hurt. It was from one of my best friends from high school. Thankfully, through Facebook, we have been able to reconnect. Her son was killed Tuesday night in a car accident. It's a nightmare that we, as parents, face every, single day. His funeral is this morning, and I can't make it back in time. My heart and mind are right there with her, though, and I'm pretty sure that she feels it. As soon as she is ready, I will go to see her. She is being incredible strong through it all....I never doubted for a minute that she would be. If you're reading this today, please say a quick prayer for my friend and her family.
Today I'm thankful for: one more sunny beach mornings, text messaging, and lifelong friends.
Today I'm thankful for: one more sunny beach mornings, text messaging, and lifelong friends.
Monday, May 3, 2010
Wow.
So, it rained. And rained. And rained even more. Two full days of rain in Middle Tennessee. Record rainfall totals....we're hearing reports of 18 inches of rain in two days. Many parts of Nashville are flooded. Riverfront Park up to 2nd Avenue downtown...underwater. Opryland Hotel...underwater. Opry Mills....underwater. The Opryhouse is underwater, too. Interstates are shut down and many roads are still closed. My little family and I are fine...others have not been so lucky. The local TV channels have been reporting non-stop since Saturday morning. No regular programming has been on....just news and weather. According to the TVA website, all MidState dams will be releasing water until midnight tonight...so guess what? More water. Anyway, the sun is out, the schools are closed and the weather is expected to be warm and sunny....until the weekend when more rain is expected. We've been asked to conserve water....don't use it unless it is necessary....don't flush, don't shower unless you have too. I'm pretty sure I need a shower everyday....but we'll see. Y'all stay safe and dry!
Today I am thankful for: a driveway that goes uphill and Lysol & ginger ale for Wyatt.
Today I am thankful for: a driveway that goes uphill and Lysol & ginger ale for Wyatt.
Saturday, April 17, 2010
Over or under?
Do y'all have any pet peeves? Things that just bug the heck outta you? I'm pretty sure my biggest pet peeve.....is the toilet paper. Petty, yes....but makes me nuts when they put it on the holder to roll under. Everyone knows it goes over, right? Yeah...it's petty. OCD....maybe. Sometimes, I think they put it on the wrong way just to see how long it takes me to change it. One trip is all it takes. I will change it every time. I tell myself not to and that it's not of a big deal....but I always end up changing it. In fact, the roll in the boys bathroom is on wrong right now. I haven't had any sit-down time in there since I noticed it, but you can get that I will fix it as soon as I do.
I have no idea why this is my post for today. It's been a gorgeous day....super busy...but the weather was awesome.
Anyway, less than a week till the Marathon. I did 10 miles today...I'm ready. Mom and Dad will be here Friday...everyone is looking forward to their visit. Not much else going on lately.....EXCEPT.....there is one major announcement.....
I am going to be an AUNT! Sis is gonna have a baby!! She will be the best mommy ever....I just hope I can be half as good as she is in the Aunt department. We love you, Sis....and can't wait do this with you!!!
Tonight I'm thankful for: clean sheets, clean bathrooms, and a husband that can cook.
I have no idea why this is my post for today. It's been a gorgeous day....super busy...but the weather was awesome.
Anyway, less than a week till the Marathon. I did 10 miles today...I'm ready. Mom and Dad will be here Friday...everyone is looking forward to their visit. Not much else going on lately.....EXCEPT.....there is one major announcement.....
I am going to be an AUNT! Sis is gonna have a baby!! She will be the best mommy ever....I just hope I can be half as good as she is in the Aunt department. We love you, Sis....and can't wait do this with you!!!
Tonight I'm thankful for: clean sheets, clean bathrooms, and a husband that can cook.
Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Walking the snake.
Yep...you read it right....walking the snake. Not MY snake....or a snake that belongs to anyone in my house. We don't have a snake. But, I saw a guy walking his snake this afternoon. He was walking toward me and looked like he had a ball glove on his right hand. Well...the closer I got to him....it was NOT a ball glove! It was a SNAKE...all curled up on his arm. he was carrying the thing like it was normal. NORMAL...is walking a dog. I might even go as far as thinking it's normal to walk a cat and I have seen people walk their pet ferrets...but a SNAKE??? Holy cow! Where the heck was he going with the snake? (Note to my friends: don't even think about dropping by with your snake, please.) Ben had a friend when he was little that walked around with his pet bird on his shoulder. We thought that was a little strange then....but compared to SnakeBoy? BirdBoy was totally normal. Anyway, that's my story today.
Today I'm thankful for: Pants that are too big and cozy pajamas.
Today I'm thankful for: Pants that are too big and cozy pajamas.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Every other week loser.
Apparently, that's me. It seems that since I have been a Weight Watcher, I have lost pounds every other week. Luckily, I have only been a gainer once. Weigh day is Saturday....last week I lose zero pounds. Ugghhhh!! Frustrating. Of course, it's marathon time....it's in about 3 weeks...logging lots of miles. I'm pretty sure that if I mixed it up a little, it would help....but I need to walk the miles...walk, walk, walk....until the 24th. Know what else is frustrating? (I can't believe I'm about to complain about this...) I'm not hungry. I end most every day with 2-3 points left. It just doesn't make sense to me to when I'm not hungry anymore. I think that's a bad thing to have points left. I eat breakfast and lunch with a snack or two in between...and still leave points on the table. I still can't believe that I just complained about not being hungry. Crazy I know. I promise to never complain about that again.
So, the 1/2 marathon is April 24th. Lots of miles to walk between now and then. A few people have asked me who I'm walking for this year...and ya know what? This one is for ME. Of course, all of the sweet kiddos that I walked for last year will be on my mind as I walk...like always....but this one...it's for ME.
Anyway, bear with me while I go eat a few points. Enjoy the sunshine this week!
Tonight I'm thankful for: Spring, chocolate covered Ritz crackers worth 1 point each, and drinking straws.
So, the 1/2 marathon is April 24th. Lots of miles to walk between now and then. A few people have asked me who I'm walking for this year...and ya know what? This one is for ME. Of course, all of the sweet kiddos that I walked for last year will be on my mind as I walk...like always....but this one...it's for ME.
Anyway, bear with me while I go eat a few points. Enjoy the sunshine this week!
Tonight I'm thankful for: Spring, chocolate covered Ritz crackers worth 1 point each, and drinking straws.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)